Daily Editorials

Submit a Letter to the Editor | Submit a Thumbs Up, Thumbs Down
Contact the Editorial Department.

Tuesday, January 27, 2015

FOR many people, municipal budgets are just a lot of big numbers.

Monday, January 26, 2015

We Northerners have a love-hate relationship with the cold.

Sunday, January 25, 2015

With infrastructure funding increasingly scarce for small and rural municipalities in the North, many have trouble keeping up with the maintenance of their local arenas and other sports facilities.

Friday, January 23, 2015

TWO stories in the news this week illustrate the depth and complexity of Ontario’s financial mess — and, if the Fraser Institute is to be believed, inability to sort it out.

Thursday, January 22, 2015

If anyone is uniquely positioned to express sympathy for Northwestern Ontario mayors facing crumbling roads and aging waterworks on top of shrinking tax bases, it’s Ontario Municipal Affairs Minister

Wednesday, January 21, 2015

The majestic moose it not threatened under the province’s Endangered Species Act.

Tuesday, January 20, 2015

FOUR of the five candidates to lead Ontario’s Progressive Conservatives have been in Thunder Bay lately.

Monday, January 19, 2015

Just because the federal government is said to lack sufficient interest in celebrating the upcoming 50th birthday of the iconic Maple Leaf flag, there’s no reason why individuals can’t wave their own.

Sunday, January 18, 2015

Fifty years ago, American cartoonist/philosopher Charles Schulz observed through one of his characters that Christmas had become “a commercial racket” that overshadowed the season’s good-will message.

Friday, January 16, 2015

Canada’s natural resources minister Greg Rickford talked the talk about the Keystone XL pipeline in Washington this week. Insisting it will one day be built, Kenora’s MP as much as told U.S.

Thursday, January 15, 2015

If you were just plain lucky, or smart enough, to have several million dollars to invest, you would probably track every cent.

Wednesday, January 14, 2015

As if we don’t have enough to worry about with respect to our water supplies, now we learn that yet another petroleum product is in the mix.

Tuesday, January 13, 2015

FEW terrorist activities have drawn such large, fast and widespread reaction as the killing of journalists at a French magazine last week.