Daily Editorials

Submit a Letter to the Editor | Submit a Thumbs Up, Thumbs Down
Contact the Editorial Department.

Friday, August 29, 2014

AS municipal elections approach in Ontario the relative absence of women candidates is again being raised. Why don’t more women run?

Thursday, August 28, 2014

AS if to buttress Unifor’s rejection of Bombardier’s contract offer, the Canadian Labour Congress issued a general statement Wednesday that could have been designed with the Thunder Bay plant’s worker

Wednesday, August 27, 2014

THE decision by Rebecca Johnson Tuesday to seek a fourth term on Thunder Bay city council leaves just one incumbent out of the running but two existing seats available.

Tuesday, August 26, 2014

WHEN Thunder Bay earned the dubious title of Canada’s murder capital in 2010, there were five homicides resulting in a murder rate of 4.2 per 100,000 population.

Monday, August 25, 2014

The City of Thunder Bay’s battery recycling program is a great initiative and one that should be adopted by other municipalities across the Northwest.

Sunday, August 24, 2014

There could be a new way to help newcomers to the city, including aboriginal students, feel more welcome. Actually, it’s an old way — having conversations — with a new way of gathering the talkers.

Saturday, August 23, 2014

THUMBS Up those honest and helpful people who go out of their way to return lost property, including “the couple who found my purse on Balmoral Street. You made a terrible day much brighter.

Friday, August 22, 2014

It’s time for First Nations communities in Northern Ontario to take a bigger role in their own food security.

Thursday, August 21, 2014

It’s unlikely there will be beer or wine coming to corner stores anytime soon.

Wednesday, August 20, 2014

The City of Thunder Bay should be commended for a plan to upgrade lighting on recreation trails across the city.

Tuesday, August 19, 2014

Like back-to-school promotions in July and in-store Christmas music the day after Halloween, it still seems early to be thinking about the Oct. 27 elections. In truth, it is not.

Monday, August 18, 2014

A WOMAN checked the Visa account and approached her husband, flabbergasted. Had he just paid $270 for licence renewal stickers for the family vehicles? Yes he had.

Sunday, August 17, 2014

THERE is a growing backlash against violence and street crime in Thunder Bay and it has reached the point where many people want something done about it.

Friday, August 15, 2014

Elections Canada’s investigation into the 2011 robocalls affair centered on a Conservative party campaign in Guelph where a party worker was in court Thursday.