Students shine at juried show

More than 300 people enjoyed last Friday's opening ceremonies at the Thunder Bay Art Gallery for the annual juried exhibition showcasing the art of Lakehead University students.

The Thunder Bay Art Gallery hosted opening ceremonies and a gala awards last Friday for the annual Lakehead University Visual Arts Department Juried Student Art Exhibition.

For well over 30 years this collaboration between the Lakehead Visual Arts Department and the Art Gallery has presented thousands of artworks by hundreds of student artists. This year there are 87 works by 47 artists.

The exhibition continues through to April 2.

The following are the award winners for the 2017 Department of Visual Arts Juried Student Art Exhibition:

  • The Dean of Social Sciences and Humanities: Asia Schultz for painting, Violet Cross for drawing, Claire Everett for ceramics, Robyn Burns for printmaking and Marielle Orr for sculpture.
  • University President: Afnan Mallouk for Dollar Signs
  • Stevenson Family: Amanda Toope for Engulf
  • The Framing Post: Emilee De Sommer Dennis for Among the Rolling Hills
  • The Picture Store: Blake Evans for Blue is Great
  • Gallery 33: Elena Rogalski for Claiming the Landscape
  • Baggage Building Arts Centre: Emilee De Sommer Dennis
  • Definitely Superior Gallery: Lucille Atlookan for Trade Colonialism
  • Thunder Bay Art Gallery: Mary Kakekapetum for Gauntlets
  • Painted Turtle Art Shop: Aiden Domenis for Entangle
  • Ruth Tye McKenzie for Visual Arts: Lucille Atlookan
  • The Body Mind Centre: Lisa Makela for Travels Through the Paint Palette
  • The Keg (two winners): Lisa Makela for God Save the Queen and Shayla Hickerson for Safe Haven
  • The Rust Check: Kaarina Kotanen for Phantasmal Creature No. 1
  • Mr. & Mrs. James MacAllan Munro Family Memorial Prize in Visual Arts: Bronte Normans for Development
  • Visual Arts Network (two winners): Caroline Robillard and Rebecca Widdes
  • Johann Winckelmann for Excellence in Art History: Katie Poirier
  • Thunder Bay Potters Guild: Jessica Stacey for Lost
  • The Pottery Supply House: Bronte Normand for Development
  • Tucker’s Pottery Supply: Jessica Stacey for Lost
  • Shaw Family: Rebekah Kushnier for Flies
  • David Bruzzese: Shaylyn Bishop for Journey Through
  • Kevin Matthews and Robin Latimer: Katie Kramer for Fault Zone
  • Deborah Christine Scott Memorial: Katie Kramer for Natural vs Synthetic
  • Dewhurst Insurance: Emilee De Sommer Dennis for Behind the Smile
  • Department of Visual Arts: Mary McPherson for Incommensurable World View Within Me
  • Lakehead University Alumni Association: Marielle Orr for Dissonance
  • Lakehead University Students Union Award: Mary McPherson for Canada 150

The other visual arts department exhibition, The Major Studio, featuring the work of fourth-year students, opens March 31 with the opening reception April 7.

Another very popular exhibition is Amanda Burk’s Stories of Contentment and Other Fables: Recent Drawings by Amanda Burk, which ends this Sunday.

— Submitted by Alastair MacKay, Thunder Bay Art Gallery

The Chronicle-Journal welcomes stories from our readers. Tell us about recent gatherings, projects and meetings. Try to keep stories to 300 words or less and include captions with pictures. Visit to share Your Stories.

Recommended for you