Nominations are now being accepted for the Northwestern Ontario Writers’ Workshop’s 2014 Literary Awards.

There are two awards up for grabs.

The Elizabeth Kouhi Award honours outstanding contributions to the literature of Northwestern Ontario, while the Sheila Burnford Builders Award recognizes an individual or organization for promoting literacy in the region.

Nominations can be made by emailing by April 30 with a one-page email stating the category, nominee’s name, and why the individual or organization is deserving.

Nominees do not need to be members of the Northwestern Ontario Writers’ Workshop (NOWW).

Award winners will be announced at NOWW’s literary awards party on May 15.

Past winners of the Elizabeth Kouhi Award include Elizabeth Kouhi, Elinor Barr, Charles Wilkins, Thunder Bay Writers Guild, Dorothy Colby, Hazel Fulford and Bill MacDonald.

The Sheila Burnford Builders Award has previously been given to the Thunder Bay Public Library, Sleeping Giant Writers Festival, Barb Matousek and Wendy MacDonald of the Sioux Lookout Literacy Committee, and NOWW founding directors Deborah deBakker, Rosalind Maki, Jim Foulds and Charles Wilkins.

Recommended for you