Here they come!

Alexander Maycock (331) and Andy Shields (330) try to break from the pack during the senior men’s sprints at the Ontario Cup event at Lappe Nordic Centre on Friday. Maycock, who attends Nipissing University in North Bay, won the race. Big Thunder’s Alannah MacLean captured the senior women’s crown. Other winners were: Carley Kiiskila (Big Thunder, under-16 girls), Theodore Ochrym (Team Hardwood, under-16 boys), Imogen Naldersmith (Downtown Nordic, under-18 girls), Max Mahaffy (Walden Nordic, under-18 boys), Anna Stewart (Big Thunder, under-20 women) and Nicholas Randall (Big Thunder, under-20 men). Lappe’s Ruth Zavitz won the 800-metre course in the girls under-14 class and teammate Eric Jamsa was the top male racer among under-14 boys. Over 150 athletes from across the province as well as skiers from Manitoba are competing at the three-day event which is the second Ontario Cup meet of the circuit. Action resumes today with the interval start classic and concludes Sunday with the free skate mass starts.